Updating Earlier Catalogs

Catalogs produced by earlier versions must be updated, if they're to take advantage of the latest version of Capture One.

Overview

If you’re upgrading from an earlier full release of Capture One, such as version 11 to version 12, you will need to upgrade any Catalog or Session created with an earlier version if you want to work in it with the new version. Upgrading only updates the database, allowing you take advantage of any improvements made. Image variants remain unaltered as the previous settings and adjustments are managed by the version process engine and a Capture One Catalog or Session can maintain several.

Upgrading an earlier Catalog

Catalogs produced by earlier versions Of Capture One must be updated to take advantage of any database enhancements in the latest full release (e.g., from version 11 to 12). Upgrading of Catalogs is not required between dot releases (e.g., 11.0 to 11.1).

  1. Choose from one of the following to open an earlier version of a document:
    • From the main menu, choose File > Open…, and navigate to the relevant document (i.e., with the .coccatlog extension) and double click on the file.
    • From the main menu, choose File > Open Recent… and select the relevant document from the list. Note this menu shows only recently opened documents, and may have been cleared.
    • From the Finder (macOS), or using Explorer (Windows), navigate to the relevant document (i.e., with the .cocatlog extension) and double click on the file.
  2. Opening the document will display a warning dialog to Upgrade, or Cancel. Note, only the database is upgraded, the variants are NOT altered and the previous settings and adjustments are preserved from the earlier version of Capture One.
  3. Click on Upgrade.