Working with Networks

Whether you’re an individual with one or two computers or you’re part of an organization or group, Capture One is network compatible and capable of handling access from multiple computers.

A note on licensing

With the proliferation of computers within the home and at work, from Capture One 9 and onwards the number of activations allowable under the terms of a single-user license was increased from two to three. The single-user license allows one individual to install and use Capture One on up to three computers.

A single-user can, for example, install and use Capture One on a tablet, a laptop and a workstation. If Capture One is required to be installed and activated on more than three computers at a time, you may either have to deactivate one first to run the application on another, or purchase an appropriate license.

If more than one user wants to use Capture One simultaneously, a multi-user license is required. For example, if two users require access to Capture One on a network, a “2-seat” license is required. Please make sure you have the appropriate license for the required number of active user installations or “seats”, otherwise Capture One will not work as expected.

You can find the number of activations you have left for your current license by going to the License window, select Capture One/Help > License… (macOS/Windows). Alternatively, you can view the same information and update your license by logging on to your Phase One profile at phaseone.com, My Pages > License Management.

Creating and saving a Catalog on a network drive

Catalogs can be saved and stored on a network drive along with the source images, either stored separately as referenced files, or managed with the images stored within the Catalog itself in much the same way as any external drive. Constant access is of course required, and you must have a version of Capture One installed on your local computer that’s compatible with the Catalog on the network drive. If you do not, you will be asked to upgrade your local version of Capture One.

  1. Connect to your network drive.
  2. Open Capture One and choose one from the following options:
    • From the Recents Window, select New Catalog…
    • From the main menu, select File > New Catalog...
    • From the Library, click on the + icon and from the menu, select New Catalog…
  3. A New Catalog dialog opens.
  4. In the Name text field, give a descriptive name to the new Catalog (e.g., Network Library).
  5. Adjacent to the Location text field, click on the action (…) icon. A System window opens to select the location to save the Catalog to.
  6. Navigate to the network drive or NAS and either select that as the root (top-level) folder, select New Folder to create and name a new one, or select an existing folder and select Choose.
  7. From the Template drop-down menu, select a previously created template of albums and collections, or leave set to Blank if not.
  8.  Select OK. A New Catalog is created and opens.
  9. You can now start to “import” (i.e., reference/index and cache) the source images on the network drive. See below for more details.

Importing and storing images on a network

Capture One Catalogs may be used to import source images such as RAW/TIFFs/JPEGs from external media such as a memory card, flash-disk or portable drive, directly to a network drive or NAS.

For improved performance it is recommended that the Catalog is stored locally (i.e., on a local computer). When accessing a network or NAS the following descriptions presume fast and reliable connection using gigabit ethernet, and not Wi-Fi.

  1. Open an existing Catalog, or create a new one, as appropriate to your workflow.
  2. Open the importer (File > Import Images… or click on the import icon in the toolbar), the import window opens.
  3. Go to Import From and select, for example, the memory card or an existing folder on your portable drive from the Source drop-down menu. The images to be ‘imported’ (i.e., copied, as well as indexed and cached) will be displayed the importer’s browser.
  4. From the Import To option select an appropriate folder on the network drive or NAS.
  5. As an option, create a subfolder by adding a folder name or token in the Sub Folder field.
  6. As an option, enable backup to, change file naming (when left to the default Image Name token, images will not be renamed), and add metadata and adjustments as required.
  7. Select the images required in the browser and click Import (X) Images or select Import All.

Viewing images stored on a network

You can easily access images already stored on a network drive or NAS using Capture One. Before viewing and working on images using a Catalog, the images must first be 'imported' (i.e., indexed and cached) using the importer tool. The Catalog may be stored either locally or on a network drive (NAS). Note if the Catalog is stored on a network drive or NAS, the drive and Catalog must be available to Capture One to open it.

  1. Open an existing Catalog or create a new one, saving it on your local computer or network drive (depending on your chosen workflow).
  2. Open the importer (File > Import Images… or click on the import icon in the toolbar), the import window opens.
  3. From Import From select the existing image folder on your network drive or NAS from the Source drop-down menu. The images to be ‘imported’ (i.e., indexed and cached within the database) will be displayed the importer’s browser. (Add a checkmark to the Include Subfolders box.)
  4. From the Import To option, select Current Location in the Destination drop-down menu. In the Collection drop-down menu, select Recent Imports Only. Select the option Capture Collection or Selected Album only if you have previously created and selected a capture collection (an album used like a capture folder) or an album in the Library specifically for the ‘imported’ images.
  5. As an option, enable Backup to, and add Metadata and Adjustments as required. Note Naming is disabled when indexing images in the current location.
  6. Select the images required in the browser and click Import (x) Images or select Import All.

Sharing Catalogs over a network with multiple users

When making adjustments on a networked Catalog, other users on the network attempting to make their-own adjustments will be unable to open the Catalog - a warning dialog will open advising the second user that it is in use. The Catalog can only be opened when no other users have it opened, or when it is locked.

If a user wants to share the Catalog with others on the network it must be locked first, however no-one will be able to make adjustments. When the Catalog is locked, other users will be able to view and search for images.

  1. Connect to your network drive.
  2. Navigate to your chosen Catalog  (name.cocatalog) and Ctrl/right-click on it and select open, double-click or drag the file to the Capture One icon in the dock (macOS only).
  3. You will be will be presented with one of following options:
    • If the Catalog opens as normal, no other network user has the Catalog open and you can proceed to use the Catalog as normal.
    • If a dialog opens with the message Unable to Open Catalog, another network user is making adjustments.
    • If the tools are grayed out, and the Catalog displays (Locked: Read Only), then the Catalog is unavailable for changes and another network user may already be viewing it. See step 4.
  4. Go to File > Unlock Catalog… to attempt to access the Catalog. Capture One will close and restart the Catalog. There are two possible outcomes:
    • If it unlocks and the tools are not grayed-out, you will be able to make changes as normal.
    • If the tools remain grayed out, then another network user is viewing the Catalog. You can only view and search for images.

Unlocking a Read Only Catalog

When you have opened a Catalog and the tools are grayed out and the Catalog name displays (Locked: Read Only), then the Catalog is unavailable for changes. This is most likely to occur when a Catalog is stored on a network drive or NAS and another network user is viewing it.

  1. Go to File > Unlock Catalog… to attempt to access the Catalog. Capture One will close and restart the Catalog. There are two possible outcomes:
    • If the tools remain grayed out, then another network user is viewing the Catalog. You can only view and search for images.
    • If it unlocks and the tools are not grayed-out, you will be able to make changes as normal.