Next Capture Backup


The Next Capture Backup enables Capture One Studio to automatically make a backup of all the captured images during a tethered session to another drive.

Introduction

The Next Capture Backup enables Capture One Studio to automatically make a backup of all the captured images during a tethered session to another drive. The tool also has a built-in backup queue manager that will let you stop and resume the backup procedure at any point in time, making it possible to continue the backup even after you have closed and relaunched Capture One Studio. 

It is worth noting that the Next Capture Backup tool works with Sessions only. It is designed to do a backup of the original captured images (RAWs and/or JPEGs) only. This means that none of the image adjustments, metadata or keywords that are applied during the tethered capture session are backed up. 

Do note however that the file naming being applied to the captured images with the Next Capture Naming tool will also be included in the backed-up image files. This means that any scanned barcodes that are applied as a part of the naming scheme will also be part of the file naming on the backed-up files. 

You should therefore consider including some method of shot reference in the file naming with the Next Capture Naming tool in the unfortunate event that you will need to rely on the backed-up image files. 

 

Using Next Capture Backup

You will find the Next Capture Backup tool under the Capture Tool Tab. It works with Sessions – not Catalogs – so ensure that you are running a Session when shooting tethered. 

1. Set up your desired file naming with the Next Capture Naming tool as this choice will be mirrored to the file naming of your backed-up files. 
2. Enable the option Back up new captures in the tool.
3. Select the backup drive destination from the Location drop-down menu. This should obviously be on another drive than you are capturing the primary images to. Capture One Studio will automatically create a folder in the chosen destination with the current Session name together with a unique ID. Within this folder, a Capture subfolder is also added. You can check the full destination file structure and naming in the Sample Path field.
4. Start your tethering session by capturing the images with the Camera tool. 
5. Click on Start to enable the backup queue.
6. Once the captured images are saved to the drive, the Next Capture Backup tool will start to copy them to the backup drive location.

 

Managing the Backup Queue

The backup Queue feature ensures that the backup process is handled independently from the capture process. This means that you can always continue to capture new images regardless of how far the backup process is. The backup queue manager will also let you stop and resume the backup procedure at any point in time, and you can even let the backup process continue after you have relaunched Capture One Studio at a later point in time. This is made possible because Capture One Studio keeps a list over the progress of the backup queue.

The backup Queue progress bar shows how many captured images that have been added in total to the queue and how many of these that have been backed-up so far. As an example, the numbers 80/100 indicate that 80 out of 100 images have already been backed-up, and that 20 still needs to be done. The queue is completed when both numbers are equal, like 100/100. 

You can pause the backup queue by clicking on Stop. Note that the queue is not cleared by doing this, the process is merely halted.
You can start and resume the backup queue by clicking on Start.
If you try to close Capture One Studio without the having finished the backup yet, you will get a warning. It is advised to click Stop first, then close Studio. 
Capture One Studio will save the status of the backup queue to a file. This means that even after relaunching the software at a later date, you will still be able to confirm whether all the image files were indeed backed-up (this is the case when both numbers in the queue are equal, like 100/100).
If you want to remove the backup queue completely, click on the action icon in the top-right corner and choose Clear Queue from the drop-down menu. This is only recommended when the backup queue is completed.

 
 

Next Capture Backup Notes

The Next Capture Backup tool will automatically mirror the file structure of any subfolders that you create within the Capture folder. For example, if you create the subfolder Product1 within the Capture folder (and set this to be the capture destination folder), all the images will be backed-up to a Product1 subfolder too. This will keep things nicely organized.

Capture One Studio on Mac has the added benefit of being able to run Apple Script to automate the workflow further. These are the options that Apple Script can control in the Next Capture Backup tool:

  • Change destination folder
  • Enable/disable next capture Backup
  • Enable/disable queue