Slipstream is a mode in Capture One CH for Windows which is designed to simplify and streamline the workflow when digitizing large volumes of flat copy objects.
Digitization studios and service bureaus, who often work on large-scale projects digitizing high volumes of loose leaf material and books, where personnel may have 2 levels of skills:
• An Administrator, who is experienced in Capture One and can set the system up in terms of capture parameters such as focus, distance and exposure, as well as base characteristics and process instructions (ICC profiles, curves and processing recipes) and who can create templates for the less skilled operator.
• An Operator can then switch to Slipstream mode, see a Live View image of the object, and see thumbnails of the images as they come into the Capture folder.
• The operator can start a new session job-folder or resume working with one which was created previously.
• Capture One CH 11.2 for Windows
• A supported camera: the Phase One iXG and XF 50MP and 100MP. Both will automatically switch from Live View to Capture and back when triggered.
• A touch screen device: Slipstream is designed to be used with a touch screen, so all main functions are operated with the touch of a finger: Capture, Live View, Retake, Insert, Delete and Finish. The workspace can also be changed between Browser & Capture modes by swiping and dragging the divider line across the screen. Standard gestures such as double tapping and pinching are also supported.
When working in a mixed environment where both Windows and MacOS are utilised on a network, the RAW files from Slipstream captured in Windows can be edited and processed on a Mac using the full range of CH dedicated tools, such as Auto Crop and film negative inversion.
A Live view image is shown on the left, this mode allows for easy and accurate positioning of the captured object
The captured image is on the left, thumbnails on the right with Delete/ Retake/ Insert Before options showing as buttons over the thumbnails on the right.
Retake and Insert Before
Should an image be out of alignment or have the wrong exposure, the operator can replace it by choosing the Retake option. If a page out of a folder was accidentally missed, it can be captured and inserted before the one just taken.
Browser takes over the whole view and shows options for each image to Delete, Retake and Insert Before. The operator can add a title name to an existing image or to the next capture. The name will be placed in the image file’s metadata.
When pressing the Finish button, the user will be taken back into Capture One CH where further post processing, editing and exporting can be performed.